Charité 3R – Replace | Reduce | Refine 

Meta menu:

From here, you can access the Emergencies page, Contact Us page, Accessibility Settings, Language Selection, and Search page.

Open Menu
  • Lichthof CCO Charité | © Charité 3R / Foto: von Wardenburg
    ©
    Lichthof CCO Charité | © Charité 3R / Foto: von Wardenburg

    3R research at the Charité

    Charité scientists work on many different projects using a wide range of technologies to further strenghten 3R research.

    Research Projects
  • About Charité 3R

    Animal welfare needs to be strengthened and alternatives need to be consistently developed. We intend to provide a...

    Our aims
  • Charité 3R Toolbox

    Get into the topic faster, find the right information more easily.

    Charité 3R Toolbox
  • Less animal experiments with multiplex microscopy

    Read more
  • Aufgeschlagenes Buch (Bild: © BillionPhotos.com AdobeStock)
    ©
    Aufgeschlagenes Buch (Bild: © BillionPhotos.com AdobeStock)

    Pubications

    Publications and congress contributions on funded projects.

    More information

Charité 3R – Developing alternatives to animal testing, maximizing animal welfare, improving translational research

Welcome to the Charité 3R website. We are an infrastructure of the Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin actively strengthening the 3Rs principle in biomedical research and education. The aim of the 3Rs principle is to replace animal experiments whenever possible (Replace), to reduce the number (Reduce) or to minimize the burden on laboratory animals (Refine).

Here you will find information for researchers (training, 3R-service, 3R-research funding, 3R-events) as well as information for the interested public on animal experiments and 3R-research stories at Charité.

A 5-minute brochure about Charité 3R as well as a video with Dean Prof. Pries and Clinic Director Prof. Siegmund summarises our objective and Charité's motivation.

The principle of the 3Rs

The 3Rs were developed in 1959 and describe ethical principles for the research with animals. The 3Rs stand for Replace, Reduce, Refine. In an advanced definition by the NC3R, which Charité 3R also applies, the developments in biomedical research over the past 60 years are taken into account. For example, the area of Replaceincludes the development of new animal-free high-tech methods, such as research on organoids or human tissues. (Copyright: Tierversuche-verstehen.de)

The principle of the 3Rs was developed in 1959 by the two British researchers William Russell and Rex Burch as an ethical principle for experimental scientific work and published in their book "The Principles of Humane Experimental Technique".

The aim of the 3Rs is to avoid animal experiments wherever possible (Replace), to reduce the number of animals used in experiments (Reduce) and to limit their suffering to the indispensable level (Refine). The 3Rs are now the basis for animal welfare policy and practice in modern research approaches in many countries. The consistent implementation of the 3Rs principle in all areas of animal experimental research is a prerequisite for animal experiments to be approved by the competent authorities.

Expanded definition of the 3Rs
Following the National Centre for the Replacement, Refinement and Reduction of Animals in Research (NC3Rs), Charité 3R uses an expanded 3Rs definition that takes into account developments in research over the past 60 years as well as current scientific practice.

"Replace" thus additionally includes the development and application of innovative high-tech methods and models with which scientific questions can be answered entirely without the use of animals. This also includes the replacement of culture media with animal material, which are usually used for the cultivation of cells and in in vitro research.

The area of "Reduction" also includes the careful design and analysis of animal experiments. Only statistically soundly designed animal experiments that are robust, reproducible and contribute to the gain of knowledge can be ethically justified.

"Refinement" includes all measures that strengthen animal welfare, the application of the latest in vivo technologies and an improved understanding of the influence of animal welfare on experimental results.

3R-Eduation and Service

Learn more about Charité 3R

Charité 3R – Replace | Reduce | Refine 

Metanavigation:

Hier finden Sie den Zugang zur Notfallseite, Kontaktinformationen, Barrierefreiheits-Einstellungen, die Sprachwahl und die Suchfunktion.

Navigation öffnen
  • Lichthof CCO Charité | © Charité 3R / Foto: von Wardenburg
    ©
    Lichthof CCO Charité | © Charité 3R / Foto: von Wardenburg

    3R-Forschung an der Charité

    Informieren Sie sich, welche Methoden an der Charité entwickelt werden, um Tierversuche zu reduzieren oder zu ersetzen.

    Forschungsprojekte
  • Prof. Dr. Axel Radlach Pries, Votstandsmitglied der Charité und Dekan (Bild: Charité 3R)
    ©
    Prof. Dr. Axel Radlach Pries, Votstandsmitglied der Charité und Dekan (Bild: Charité 3R)

    Stimmen aus der Forschung

    Interview mit Prof. Dr. Axel Radlach Pries und Prof. Dr. Britta Siegmund

    Video ansehen
  • Über Charité 3R

    Der Tierschutz muss gestärkt und Alternativen konsequent entwickelt werden. Dafür wollen wir einen sichtbaren Beitrag...

    Unsere Ziele
  • Charité 3R Toolbox

    Schneller die richtigen Informationen finden, leichter ins Thema einsteigen – die Charité 3R Toolbox hilft dabei.

    Charité 3R Toolbox
  • Multiplex-Mikroskopie reduziert Tierversuche

    Aktuelle Meldung lesen
  • Aufgeschlagenes Buch (Bild: © BillionPhotos.com AdobeStock)
    ©
    Aufgeschlagenes Buch (Bild: © BillionPhotos.com AdobeStock)

    Wissenschaftliche Publikationen

    Publikationen und Kongressbeiträge aus geförderten Projekten.

    Zur Übersicht

Charité 3R – Alternativen zu Tierversuchen entwickeln, Tierschutz stärken und Translation verbessern

Herzlich Willkommen auf der Webseite von Charité 3R. Wir sind eine Einrichtung der Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin zur aktiven Unterstützung des 3R-Prinzips in der biomedizinischen Forschung. Ziel des 3R-Prinzips ist es, Tierversuche zu ersetzen (Replace), die Anzahl der Versuchstiere zu reduzieren (Reduce) oder die Belastung für Versuchstiere zu mindern (Refine).

Sie finden hier Informationen für Forschende (Ausbildung, 3R-Service, 3R-Forschungsförderung, 3R-Veranstaltungen) ebenso wie Informationen für die interessierte Öffentlichkeit zu Tierversuchen und 3R-Forschungsgeschichten an der Charité

Eine 5-Minuten-Broschüre über Charité 3R sowie ein Video mit Dekan Prof. Pries und Klinikleiterin Prof. Siegmund fasst unsere Zielsetzung und die Motivation der Charité zusammen.

Das 3R-Prinzip

Das „3R-Prinzip“ wurde 1959 entwickelt und beschreibt ethische Handlungsgrundsätze für die Forschung mit Tieren. Die drei R stehen für die englischen Begriffe Replace, Reduce, Refine. In der erweiterten Definition des NC3R, die auch Charité 3R anwendet, werden die Entwicklungen in der biomedizinischen Forschung der vergangenen 60 Jahre berücksichtigt. Beispielsweise gehört zum Bereich Replace damit auch die Entwicklung neuer tierfreier high-tech Methoden, etwa die Forschung an Organoiden oder humanen Geweben. (Bildrechte: Tierversuche-verstehen.de)

Das 3R-Prinzip wurde 1959 von den beiden britischen Forschern William Russell und Rex Burch als ein ethischer Handlungsgrundsatz experimenteller wissenschaftlicher Arbeit entwickelt und in ihrem Buch „The Principles of Humane Experimental Technique“ veröffentlicht.

Ziel des 3R-Prinzips ist es, Tierversuche wo immer möglich zu vermeiden (Replace), die Anzahl der in Versuchen verwendeten Tiere zu reduzieren (Reduce) und ihr Leiden auf das unerlässliche Maß zu beschränken (Refine). Das 3R Prinzip ist heutzutage die Grundlage für die Tierschutzpolitik und Praxis moderner Forschungsansätze in vielen Ländern. Die konsequente Umsetzung des 3R-Prinzips in allen Bereichen tierexperimenteller Forschung ist die Voraussetzung dafür, dass Tierversuche von den zuständigen Behörden genehmigt werden.

Erweiterte Definition der 3Rs
In Anlehnung an das britische National Centre for the Replacement, Refinement and Reduction of Animals in Research (NC3Rs) verwendet Charité 3R eine erweitere 3R-Definition, die die Entwicklungen in der Forschung der vergangenen 60 Jahre und die heutige wissenschaftliche Praxis miteinbezieht.

Replace“ umfasst demnach zusätzlich die Entwicklung und Anwendung von innovativen high-tech Methoden und Modellen, mit denen wissenschaftliche Fragen ganz ohne den Einsatz von Tieren beantwortet werden können. Dazu gehört auch der Ersatz von Nährmedien mit tierischem Material, die in der Regel für die Kultivierung von Zellen und in der in vitro-Forschung verwendet werden.

Der Bereich „Reduction“ umfasst auch die sorgfältige Konzeption und Analyse von Tierversuchen. Nur statistisch solide geplante Tierversuche, die robust und reproduzierbar sind und zum Erkenntnisgewinn beitragen, sind ethisch zu rechtfertigen.

Der Bereich „Refinement“ beinhaltet alle Maßnahmen, die den Tierschutz stärken, sowie die Anwendung von neuesten in vivo-Technologien und ein verbessertes Verständnis vom Einfluss des Tierwohls auf die Versuchsergebnisse.

 

3R-Ausbildung und Service

Über Charité 3R